Twitter Facebook Linkedin youtube marker Phone Email

CommonwealthFirst is CWEIC's flagship initiative to help SME’s trade and invest across the Commonwealth.

Over three years, 100 leading UK SMEs have been selected to become CommonwealthFirst Export Champions. Export Champions are provided with unique access and support in their quest to win new business in the fast growing Commonwealth markets. Their success will be showcased as an encouragement to the wider UK business community.

Cohort 1
Cohort 2
Cohort 3
Cohort 4

Laser Quantum

Laser Quantum is dedicated to supplying robust and reliable lasers to OEM companies and research institutions around the world. It is a global leader in continuous wave and ultrafast lasers and complement all its ranges by offering supporting optics, instruments and accessories.

Formed in the 1990s by three PhD physicists from the University of Manchester, Laser Quantum has grown rapidly into a globally recognised company, renowned for their quality, reliability and the scientific advances it brings to the photonics market. The company was recognised as part of the Sunday Times SME Export Track 100 in 2016 and has won numerous awards for its technology and export growth, including a Queens Award.

Following the acquisition of two companies; Gigaoptics GmbH and Venteon Laser Technology GmbH, Laser Quantum has been able to unite the principles of robust design and cutting-edge technology, in the fields of continuous wave, GHz, few cycle pulses, THz spectroscopy and amplification.

The great variation and individuality in specification required by the research community and the repeatability and service required by the industrial customer could be a source of conflict for some companies; however, Laser Quantum has found that these two demands are the driving force behind the company: balancing innovation with the quality that industry requires.

CommonwealthFirst will support the company in its quest to win new business for its premium lasers in new markets such as India, Canada and South Africa.